Skip to content

Stock-up Time

April 22, 2009

I went grocery shopping for the first time in 11 days. I usually shop every week. However, life has been very busy lately and there was not enough time in the day to get to the store. That is the benefit of STOCKPILING! I allow myself a budget of $100 a week for ALL of my shopping (groceries, baby items, household). I encourage you all to come up with your own budget. Theoretically I could have spent $200 today since I had not been shopping lately. Would you believe I only spent $91.29 at Kroger and Harris Teeter combined! And I saved $113.94!

Here are the items I think you should stock-up on this week from Harris Teeter and Kroger. Note: I am not going to list out my whole shopping trip or all of the deals at these two stores. There are plenty of blogs that do a great job in grocery store lists, such as Frugal in Virginia .

Harris Teeter: Fill your freezer with protein!

The HT brand skinless boneless chicken breasts are on sale for Buy one, get TWO FREE. This makes for some really inexpensive chicken breasts $9.99 for 7.5 pounds!

The HT brand of uncooked shrimp is also Buy one, get TWO FREE. For 6 pounds of shrimp it was $17.97.

Old Orchard 100% Apple Juice
Buy two, get THREE FREE. This makes it $1.19 each.

Remember the e-VIC program I told you about HERE ? Today I got 10% off my bill due to the e-VIC program. The promotion was spend $100 and get 10% off. I know what you are thinking; I said the total I spent was only $91.29 for BOTH stores. Well, the $100 was BEFORE coupons and sales. I actually only spent $40 at Harris Teeter today and I got more than what I listed above.

Kroger

My favorite deal at Kroger this week is the Comforts for Baby items. If you buy $15 of Comforts items, you will automatically get $3 off the total. And there are coupons out there for these items as well.

I bought:

(2) packs of diapers $6.49 each= 12.98

(3) Comfort Fruit Puffs $4.50

(1) Comfort Fruit Bars$2.39

-(2) $3 off Comforts Diapers Coupons HERE

-(1) $1 off (3) Comfort Puffs (recent mailer)

-(1) $1 off Comfort Cereal bars (recent mailer)

– $3 off instant savings

Total: $8.87

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

