Skip to content

Can you Read a CVS Reciept?

May 18, 2009

money making monday 

 cvs receipt with explanation

extracare

Today I am going to teach you how to understand the CVS receipt. Although this is not technically “making money”; this information will keep you from leaving money on the table, so to speak.

At the end of your receipt, you will see an ExtraCare Card balance section. This is one of the most exciting sections in my opinion. It will list your “Year to Date Savings” and your “Quarterly Spending”. Mine currently says “Year to Date Savings: $1,038.62” and “Spring 2009 Spending: $128.46”. Now are you processing this? Can you imagine really spending $1,000 at CVS in a 5 month period? Of course not! BUT that does mean that I have brought home that much in product though! Amazing!

Now, every quarter CVS will issue ExtraCare Bucks (ECB’s) on your quarterly spending amount. You earn 2% back in ECB’s on most purchase items and you earn $1 in ECB’s for filling 2 prescriptions.

The next section is the “This Week’s Extra Buck Offers”.In this section of the receipt, you will find the ECB offers that you have purchased for the week or month(if it is a monthly ECB offer). It will list the product name, like Aveeno, and then the promotion, Spend 25 get 10 EB. For my Aveeno deal, the next line says, “Amount Toward this Reward $39.96”. This means that I have spent $39.96 for Aveeno products and I have earned $10 ECB’s. The next line says “Amount Needed to Earn Reward $10.04”. This means that if I want to earn another $10 ECB’s I need to spend an additional $10.04. The amount of times you are able to complete a certain deal depends on the promotion. Sometimes you can only do it once and sometimes it is five times.

Now I mentioned that we don’t want to leave money on the table. Look at my Aveeno deal. I already earned the $10 ECB’s once by spending $39.96 and I need to spend $10.04 to get another $10 in ECB’s. So really,  I should have scrounged up some more coupons and finished the deal to earn those last $10 ECB’s (I did this in another transaction did you really think I would let $10 go?) that I had already earned money toward. YOU DO NOT HAVE TO PURCHASE ALL OF THE PRODUCTS FOR AN ECB DEAL IN ONE PURCHASE. A running total is kept on the end of your receipt.

Another thing you will see is the “Quantity Towards this Reward” and “Quantity Needed to Earn Reward”.The “Quantity Towards this Reward” means the number of times you have completed the deal and earned the ECB’s. So this would be like the Buy 3 Kellogg’s Cereal get $5 ECB’s deal. I ended up buying 1 box of Kellogg’s in this transaction. But, the “Quantity Needed to Earn Reward” still says 2. That means I can purchase another 2 to earn the ECB’s. (I did finish that deal in another transaction.)

When you have completed the promotion for a certain product, your receipt will read “*Offer Limit Reached”.There have been times that the CVS flyer will say that an offer can only be completed once and the “*Offer Limit Reached” doesn’t show up. This is actually what happened in the softsoap case. I was able to buy 10 softsoap before the “*Offer Limit Reached” showed up on my receipt. You can keep completing the deal until it says “*Offer Limit Reached” on the bottom of the receipt. So always check your receipt!

NOTE: I used an old receipt with old offers, Please do not run out and try to do the above offers as they were from last month!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2009 6:06 pm

    Hi, I love your site and enjoy it quite much! I was looking for the Vera Bradley giveaway but don’t see it now. I was entering your giveaway and the link is missing. Was it deleted?

    • madamedeals permalink*
      May 18, 2009 6:25 pm

      Hi Doreen! We were having technical difficulties. The giveaway is still going on and we hope the link is fixed now! Sorry, for the trouble!

Leave a Reply

